With seven qualification places on the line for the 2021/22 Nutri-Grain IronMan and Ironwoman Series, close to a 150 Nutri-Grain IronMan and IronWoman Series hopefuls descended on Tugun beach on the Gold Coast on Saturday.

Athletes battled it out across three races and formats – short and sharp (8-10 mins), longer tradition format (12-14min) and an “M Shape” (20-25min), with five heats for the men and three for the women.

A progressive point score was held across the heats with the top 20 males and females with the lowest point score, across their three races, securing a spot in Sunday’s finals.

Fresh off winning the 2021 Coolangatta Gold Short Course, Surfers Paradise’s Finn Askew shocked himself winning each of his three races to finish on top of day one.

“It is pretty awesome, my plan was just to focus on the process and do my best every time so to get three wins is pretty awesome and not something I expected,” said Askew.

“I am super stoked and hope that I can take that form into tomorrow where I will just need to give it my all again”.

Former series champion Brielle Cooper from Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park took out the top spot in the female field, with two second and one first place.

The most experienced competitor in the women’s field, four-time Coolangatta Gold Champion and three-time Nutri-Grain IronWoman Series Champion Courtney Hancock, qualified in seventh to take her place in tomorrow’s final.

“Coming off the Coolangatta Gold it has certainly been a challenge getting ready for the trial, I have never done that before and it has certainly challenged me,” said Hancock who qualified seventh for tomorrow’s final.

“I have ticked one box today, but I need to make sure that I do all my recovery and am on again tomorrow as I really want to be a part of the Series again this year”.

The top 20 males and 20 females who have progressed to the Sunday finals will compete across the same three formats as Saturday, with a new progressive point score being kept across the three rounds.

Finals will kick off from 9:00 AM (AEST) on Sunday morning with a separate progressive point score being kept. The final top seven males and seven females with the lowest point score will secure a coveted spot in the 2021/22 Nutri-Grain Iron Series.

For a full list of athletes who have passed to the Sunday finals please see below.

Sunday December 19 – Finals from 9:00AM AEST

Round 1 – Shorter Traditional Course (approx. 10 to 12 minutes in duration) – Board/Ski/Swim

Round 2 – Traditional Course (approx. 15 minutes in duration) – Ski/Swim/Board

Round 3 – M Shape (approx. 20 to 25 minutes in duration)- Swim/Board/Ski

Top 20 Males: 

Place Last Name First Name Club Points
1 Askew Finn Surfers Paradise 3
2 Louis Kendrick Manly 5
3 Palmer Matthew Maroochydore 7
4 Palmer Adam Maroochydore 8
5 Carberry Ben Currumbin 8
6 Cotter Hayden Maroochydore 9
7 Kinsela Ky Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 9
8 Fletcher Corey Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 10
9 Johns Bailey Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 10
10 Maggs Conner Newport 10
11 Verco Charlie North Bondi 10
12 Furniss Jay Cronulla 10
13 Beattie Max Surfers Paradise 11
14 Hendy Trevor Surfers Paradise 11
15 Morris Jake Newport 11
16 Lyndon Tanyn Kurrawa 12
17 Savage Will Trigg Island 12
18 Gould Wesley Kurrawa 13
19 Maxwell Luther Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 13
20 Middleton Nicholas Wanda 13

Top 20 Females: 

Place Last Name First Name Club Points
1 Cooper Brielle Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 5
2 Bull Aly Alexandra Headlands 6
3 O’Sullivan Lily Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 7
4 Scully Hannah Northcliffe 7
5 Higginson Kirsty Currumbin 8
6 Pierce Britney Wanda 8
7 Hancock Courtney Surfers Paradise 10
8 Corrin Olivia Northcliffe 11
9 Spencer Madison Newport 13
10 Williams Bella Swansea 13
11 Papac Carla Wanda 14
12 Doyle Emily Newport 15
13 Finati Lily North Bondi 15
14 Harris Grace Alexandra Headlands 15
15 Coleman Tara Maroubra 16
16 Brown Ella Maroochydore 17
17 Goodwin Miranda Currumbin 19
18 Outram Electra Noosa Heads 19
19 Cross Charlotte Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park 21
20 Meehan Ruby Northcliffe 22