West Australian ironwoman and schoolteacher Jayde Hardstaff has today been named to compete in the 2021/21 Nutri-Grain IronWoman Series after Sunshine Coast ironwoman Tiarrn Raymond withdrew.

Hardstaff, 24, grew up in Perth and only moved to the Gold Coast in Queensland three years ago to pursue her dream of being an Ironwoman, which has now unexpectedly come true.

The Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park athlete trialled for the Series in December and just missed out on a qualification place but has now been given the unexpected late call-up to compete in all six rounds of the Nutri-Grain IronWoman Series beginning on February 12 in Kingscliff, NSW.

“I was pretty disappointed when I didn’t make it originally from the trials,” said Hardstaff.

“I felt like I raced really well on Saturday and then I didn’t quite put it together well enough on the Sunday.

“The Nutri-Grain Series was always my goal. It is the pinnacle of the sport and I am just really grateful to have been given this opportunity.

“I used to watch it live after nippers on a Sunday…but it’s going to be a real buzz knowing all my friends and family from back home in Perth are going to be able to watch and support me,” added Hardstaff.

The 24-year-old schoolteacher competed in the 2019 Coolangatta Gold which doubled as round one of the 2019/20 Nutri-Grain Series and came 11th in the 2020/21 qualification event in December.

Hardstaff was selected by an independent panel under the SLSA athlete replacement policy and now joins fellow West Australian Wes Gould in the 20/21 Nutri-Grain Series, who also made the journey across the country to pursue his dream of being a professional Ironman.

To read more about Jayde Hardstaff click here.

To see the full list of male and female competitors in the Nutri-Grain Series click here.

The first rounds of the Nutri-Grain IronMan and IronWoman Series will take place across the 12-14 February and will be broadcast LIVE on Channel 9GO! from 12pm-2pm (AEDT).

The remaining three rounds will take place across 26-28 February with round four (26 Feb) LIVE on Channel 9GO! from 12pm-2pm (AEDT) and rounds five and six LIVE on Channel 9 from 12pm-2pm (AEDT).