After two days of racing, Northcliffe’s Mitch Morris and Ruby Meehan have taken a solid lead in the overall point score in the Nutri-Grain Next Gen Series.

Morris has claimed back to back wins, edging out his twin brother Jake today and Maroochydore’s Joel Piper, to put himself in the strongest possible position to win an entry into the 2023-2024 Nutri-Grain Ironman Series.

The former Sydney Northern Beaches product recently made the switch to the Gold Coast, with his local knowledge paying off during the tricky conditions.

“The Specialist was really tough. The first 1km run…I’m too heavy for it so I came like third last,” Morris said.

“I knew I had to have a big swim, board and ski to try and finish near the top, so I’d be starting near the front.

“I managed to do that, and it just worked out for me in the end,” he said.

In the Ironwoman, Northcliffe’s Ruby Meehan crossed the line in first ahead of clubmate Kalani Ives and Newport’s Analise Kibble in third.

The win puts Meehan in the overall lead, only two points ahead of Ives in second.

With one round still left tomorrow, Meehan said today’s recovery will be important to put her in the best position to race well again tomorrow.

“I’m actually really excited to see how tomorrow turns out, it’s a really good opportunity,” Meehan said.

“Hopefully I can race my best again and come out on top.

“It’s all about recovery for me now, eating well and hydrating…especially in this heat,” she said.

The top competitors with the highest point score at the end of the third and final round will earn automatic qualification into the 2023/24 Nutri-Grain IronMan and IronWoman Series. The leading competitors leading into the last round are:

Males: Mitchell Morris (Northcliffe – 40 points), Jake Morris (Northcliffe – 36 points), Ryan Green (Currumbin – 35 points)

Females: Ruby Meehan (Northcliffe – 39 points), Kalani Ives (Northcliffe – 37 points), Charlize Menefy (Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park – 31 points)

Tune in on Saturday 4 February 2022 for the Nutri-Grain IronMan and IronWoman Series, 12-2PM nationally on SBS and Fox Sports and 2-4PM on Sky Sports in New Zealand.

For the full results from today see here